Customize Your Coffee Mug!

My husband and I had our first date on Valentine’s Day… 13 years ago! This year I picked up a few items I thought he would enjoy, but I also had to show my crafty side.

Honestly, I think he liked this the most. I give you this customized coffee mug DIY!

HM_IG5

This was beyond easy and the options are endless! I kept this project fairly simple since it was the first time I was trying this, but I have so many more cute mug ideas!

Here is what you need:

  • Plain white coffee mug
  • Oil-based Sharpie
  • Q-Tips
  • Rubbing alcohol

HM_IG1

I cleaned the area of the mug I wanted to write/draw on with the rubbing alcohol and Q-Tips. They also comes in handy if you make a mistake when designing your mug.

While you do this, preheat your oven to 275 degrees.

HM_IG2

I am by no means a calligrapher, but I love the hand-written script look.

My husband and I have this inside joke where we call each other husby (short for husband) sometimes. We’re odd birds, I know! And I have no idea how that started.

Anyway… I decided to free-hand this with the Sharpie, but you could use a stencil or even put a sticker on it and use that as a stencil to create letters and shapes.

If you can’t tell I love arrows so I drew a few on the back.

HM_IG3
Once you are happy with the design of your mug, place it on a baking sheet in the oven for two hours.

After two hours, turn off the oven, crack the door open, and let the mug cool off inside the oven.

Then, enjoy your new mug! Be sure to hand-wash it going forward. Use it to indulge in your favorite hot beverage or give it as a gift. Either way you can’t go wrong!

Leave a Reply

