Make Your Own Body Butter!

Hello body butter, goodbye dry skin! I don’t know about you, but this winter, like most others, has left me with dry, itchy skin. But not anymore!

I have had this recipe from The Idea Room hanging out on my Pinterest board for quite a while now. I’m so excited that I finally got to try out, with a few adjustments, and now I can share it with you!

BB_IG7

Here is what you need:

  • Palmer’s 3.5 oz cocoa butter with Vitamin E
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil
  • 1/4 tsp. vanilla
  • 8 oz almond oil
  • container(s) to store your lotion in

I found all of these items at Walmart for about $10-$15 and the amount this recipe made will last me well through the winter and then some. A little goes a LONG way!

BB_IG1

First, melt the cocoa butter and coconut oil in a small saucepan on medium-low heat.

BB_IG3

Once melted, add the almond oil and vanilla. I put all of these ingredients right into the glass bowl for my stand-mixer. Place the bowl into the fridge to chill for 20 minutes.

BB_IG2

Using the wire whip attachment, whip up your lotion until mixed and smooth. Place into your favorite container or containers.

BB_IG4

I used a small and medium mason jar and the lotion fit perfectly. I wanted to jazz up the jars so I used craft glue, twine and some spare fabric lying around to make them all cute.

BB_IG5

The body butter will be a bit different than your typical lotion and don’t be alarmed if you see any tiny chunks when you go to use it. Work a very small amount between your hands and it will melt immediately.

It will seem slightly greasy due to the essential oils, but your skin will quickly absorb it. Honestly, my elbows haven’t felt this soft in years. I have the elbows of an infant.

BB_IG8

So mix up your own batch of this luscious body butter. Your skin will thank you!

Leave a Reply

