Rose Gold Elephant Bookends! *Super Easy DIY*

I’ve been working on little projects throughout the last year to add some fun and style to my home office. I feel like this is the room in my house that is the most neglected decor-wise, but I would like to make it a space where I feel comfortable and inspired to be creative and write.

EleIG4

I love gold/rose gold accents and have been adding them throughout my work space. Trying to also keep my decor budget-friendly, I tried this DIY bookend project, and I am so glad I did!

It’s super easy and you only need a few items to get this together.

Supplies:

  • 4 small wooden blocks
  • 2 plastic elephants (or animal of your choosing) from the dollar store
  • Martha Stewart Crafts Rose Gold Metallic acrylic paint
  • Wood glue

For the base, I chose the more finished pieces from a craft store, but you can use any style you prefer. Paint the wooden blocks and, once dry, use the wood glue to glue two blocks to each other to form a thicker, sturdier block.

EleIG6

Paint your plastic elephants on all sides. It took me about 4 coats to make sure they were fully covered.

EleIG1

Attach the elephants to the top of your blocks with the wood glue. Be sure to center them as well as you can.

EleIG2

Allow the glue dry fully, then get them on your shelf! This was one of the easiest projects I’ve ever done, and I get asked about it a lot.

 

I hear elephants are good luck. Which animal or figure would you use for this project?

Leave a Reply

