The Top Five Things You Need for the Perfect 30th Birthday

This weekend will be close to three months since I celebrated my 30th birthday.

DC_IG10

If you are approaching your 30th, or want to start planning early, today I share with you the top five things you need for a perfect birthday.

1 – An Incredible Outfit

This is a day to stand out and feel like the special person you are. Don’t skimp on this part of the planning process, but you don’t necessarily have to spend a fortune either.

I searched for months for something to wear on this monumentous occasion, but ended up not buying anything at all. I rented.

For those of you who haven’t heard, Rent the Runway allows you to rent a designer dress for a fraction of the price. I wore a stunning blue-sequined Badgley Mischka dress and it was perfect.

I really must write about my RTR experience because it was amazing and I think everyone should try it at least once.

DC_IG11

2 – An Unforgettable Place to Celebrate

I’m not saying you need travel to an exotic location for it to be unforgettable. We are all unique and know what places and activities suit our personalities, whether it be Vegas or your local winery.

My husband helped plan my night out, which was perfect because it took the pressure off of me so I could truly enjoy the day. I love D.C., politics and history. We got lucky with unseasonably warm October weather and so we took a party cruise on the Potomac.

From there we went to a piano bar in Georgetown, where I found out the big surprise of the night. He had reserved a limo to take us all around D.C. Inside I am truly and unabashedly a nerd and so for my birthday the perfect place to spend it was visiting the Washington Monument, the Lincoln Memorial and ending with a stop in front of the White House.

DC_IG2That’s not everyone’s cup of tea, but when it comes to your birthday, do what you love most, regardless of other’s opinions. You’ll be so glad you did.

DC_IG6

3 – Your Favorite People

No matter how you decide to celebrate, make sure you have your crew–the people you can have a great time with. No matter where you are. No matter what you’re doing. Drama free.

For me this included my husband, my sister-in-law and her boyfriend, and four of our closest friends. They drove from five different cities to Northern Virginia to celebrate. My in-laws live near D.C. and welcomed all of us in their home for the weekend to make everything possible.

I really must hand it to my husband and our friends and family. Just having us all together made my birthday even more special.
DC_IG8

4 – Be in the Moment

It’s getting easier and easier to be distracted today. If you want to have an unforgettable birthday, it’s up to you to be present and take it all in. Promise me, it will fly by.

DC_IG1

For me, seeing our national monuments in this setting and on this occasion was overwhelming–in the best way possible. I had to remind myself to really take in the moment and fight the urge to go social media crazy. I wanted pictures to remember the night, but I didn’t need to share a real-time play-by-play of the nights events.

DC_IG3

There was one exception. When I found out about the limo, I texted my mom to tell her about the exciting adventure ahead of us that night.

She then told me the most important piece of advice you need to have the perfect 30th birthday…

5 – Enjoy!

DC_IG5

Leave a Reply

