File This As a Success

This past spring, as I was packing up our apartment, I started to envision how I wanted our new home to look and feel. I am in grad school part-time and having an organized home office is a goal for our new house. After I saw this filing cabinet DIY from Home-Ology Modern Vintage, I knew this is just what we needed to get our important documents in order.

Filing Finished

I am a member of a number of Facebook yard-sale sites, which come in handy when trying to unload furniture or find second-hand pieces to up-cycle.

Lucky for me, someone posted a *FREE* filing cabinet and I jumped on the opportunity to try this project!

Photo Mar 26, 8 06 38 PM
Forgive the poor quality of the “before” photo! I realized after the fact that I forgot to take one, but luckily I still had the photo that was posted on the Facebook yard-sale site.

For this project you need:

  • Paint of your choice
  • Mod Podge
  • Exacto knife
  • 2 pieces of craft paper

The first step is to take out the drawers and if this is a second-hand cabinet, wipe it down. The cabinet I got was definitely in used condition and one of the drawers was missing the bottom panel. But it was just fine for what we plan to use this for.

Paint the cabinet the color of your choice. I wanted a light cream color, and with the dark wood paneling, I needed multiple coats to cover it. Depending on what you’re starting with, you may only need to do two.

I removed the handles and painted them gold. I had considered buying new hardware for this piece, but nothing really seemed to look right so I painted the wooden ones that came with it.

I wanted a small border around the pattern, so I measured and marked the corners with a pencil and then used the Exacto knife to cut the paper to fit. If you are using a pattern and have more than one drawer, do your best to match up the patterns. This will make it look far more polished.

The next step takes patience. In sections at a time, begin putting the mod podge on the drawer and laying the craft paper down.

Follow the directions on the bottle for drying time. Once it is dry, you can add a layer of Mod Podge to the top of the paper to seal it. Add your hardware back onto the drawers and put them back into the cabinet. Voila!

Photo Mar 26, 8 14 36 PM

This DIY was personally amusing for me because my husband could not imagine the finished product. As I painted and decoupaged in our tiny apartment living room, I’m pretty sure he thought I was nuts! But the final product certainly provided some vindication 🙂

Leave a Reply

